Wednesday, November 19, 2008

BYOB

I assume that most 0f you have discovered the Purdue party scene by now. I mean come on, it's almost the end of the first semester, folks. If you are a sophomore then you might be noticing some distinct changes in how things have been going this year- especially after October break. As you may or may not have noticed, most open fraternity parties have required you to be on a "list" recently. Now for those of you who don't know, frats used to have parties where anyone could come, hang out in the rooms, wander aimlessly, etc. Yes, they would have the occasional "list" party, but those are restricted to one or two rooms in the basement and get way overcrowded really easily. Everyone who was on the list (sometimes getting close to 1000 people) would show up because they felt special to be on said "list." They really are not that much fun unless you are REALLY dedicated to waiting in a line for half an hour with 50 other sweaty, crammed together, kinda pissed people just wanting that half of a warm Keystone. And let me tell you, I'm not that dedicated. This year, IFC has passed new restrictions saying that all parties or functions must be b.y.o.b.

In theory, this is supposed to make it where you absolutely have to be 21 to drink. They say that you now either need a third party vendor (bartender who checks ID's), or you must bring your own. They all know that here at Purdue we like to have a pretty good time, but on some occasions it gets a little out of hand. Technically, these rules have always been there, but most people weren't aware of them, or if they were just ignored them completely. IFC said this would be strongly inforced after fall break, so naturally people have already started to find loop-holes or just blantantly disreguard the rules. Fraternities have been having more "list" parties because they think lower board (the guys who come in and bust the party who aren't cops) will be too overwhelmed to go around checking everyone's ID's, or be too intimidated by the door men to want to come in. Now, after the break I havn't been to any of these parties because honestly, they're just not my style. Crammed among 50 people grinding on me, spillinig my drink, and making it unbearably hot in that basement does not a good time make. So far I have not heard of any of these parties getting busted and people getting in trouble for under aged drinking, I just want you all to be aware. After these rules have been inforced, I have rediscovered the great art of apartment parties, but to be honest I kinda miss the old ways. If you have noticed any changes, or are just frusturated in the lack of good parties recently, fear not. It's only a matter of time before everyone starts ignoring the rules again.

No comments: